Slow Down

Today I learned an easy lesson in an unfortunate way. Slow down!

Life can be a blur of activity at times. Sometimes this is stressful but often I tell myself I like the cozy feel of a full schedule. Almost always, however, here comes a moment that reminds me of the need to slow down:

Take this morning. We arrived in France from the U.K. yesterday and settled into our cozy little gite:

IMG_4364

Justin was tickled by the metal spiral staircase. Knowing my general proclivity for common household injuries and my clumsy nature, I was less so but still admired its beauty.

Fast forward to this morning. It’s 5 AM and I’m waking up, mildly confused as to where I am (that happens a lot this year) but with a sense it’s important to get right up. As I ride my brain begins to remember: I’m in France and I have a school visit today! I quickly grab my iPhone, Apple Watch, universal charger, and start to head downstairs.

But not before dropping my Apple Watch, face down, on the metal spiral staircase. At first I’m worried about the deafening echo more than anything as I’m trying not to wake Justin. It’s only a few minutes later as I go to put on the watch for some yoga that I see it’s tragically cracked glass…and then realize it also will no longer unlock.

IMG_4365.JPG

Sigh. A litany of regrets streams through my mind before I can think otherwise: “WHY was I carrying so much? I know how clumsy I am, was it really necessary to take everything in one trip?” / countered by “well…yes. You were trying to be thoughtful and vacate the bedroom quickly and quietly in one trip so Justin’s sleep wouldn’t be interrupted… / cross-countered by “well a lot of good THAT did since you then dropped metal on metal, waking the dead AND breaking an expensive apple product”…and so on.

Suffice it to say, focusing on yoga after this was a challenge. But apparently a worthy one, as now, an hour later, I feel I’m learning a lesson that I always need to re-learn: sloooooow down. Single task. Focus. You have time to do what matters to you. There’s nowhere to be but here; there’s nothing to do but this.

🤷‍♀️Take that for what it’s worth and be careful with your things friends!

About beckysearls

Married (DINK); High School Spanish Teacher; Lover of new technology (especially apple products!), Learner (of the life-long variety), Voracious Reader, Aspiring Writer, Tweeter, and now (or rather, a returning) Blogger!
This entry was posted in journal, mindful living, reflection, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Down

  1. So true, and yet, it will happen again. At least it does to me!

Leave a Reply

