Summer Reflections

Image

I have so many things that I’m thinking and learning right now that are rolling around in my head, and it has suddenly occured to me that my poor little blog has seen very little action of late. I thought it would be a good start to at least list them all here so I keep them in mind and keep exploring them systematically over time.

  • standards-based grading (I’m co-hosting a google hangout #langcamp #langchat on the topic with @garnett_hillman next Monday evening 8 PM Eastern / 7 PM Central if you’re interested!)
  • digital badges and gamification (I’m not sold on this but think it has potential, particularly for Middle School learners which I’m transitioning to teach this fall after 6 years at the HS level)
  • teaching English grammar to ELLs (graduate course that is absolutely blowing my mind and making me want to a learn a lot more about the nitty-gritty of Spanish grammar too!)
  • basic computer programming and web design including HTML, CSS, and Ruby on Rails.

I’m busy trying to learn all of these things and relax at the same time while also thinking about how my new age group will differ from my older learners and how to modify the curriculum to bring in some of my new interests while still not trying too many new things at once.

Basically, my brain hurts. But in a good way, kind of like when you start exercising again after a hiatus and have muscle fatigue. Ugh, hurts so good.

About beckysearls

Married (DINK); High School Spanish Teacher; Lover of new technology (especially apple products!), Learner (of the life-long variety), Voracious Reader, Aspiring Writer, Tweeter, and now (or rather, a returning) Blogger!
This entry was posted in mishmash, reflection, school, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

