I’m Back. Not Better than Ever, but Back.

As I write, amoxicillin is trying to shut down the bacteria causing an upper-respiratory infection in…well, my upper-respiratory area. I am not feeling 100% or even close, but, I am back. I’ve been doing my typical fall-off-the-edge-of-the-earth-during-the-school-year thing of late and am trying, once again, to step away from the ledge and get some balance back.

This is no monumental post, but, I have been thinking about my blogging tendencies lately and why I am so hot/cold, off/on and decided I needed some instruction and/or inspiration to get back on the horse. A few months ago I marked a tweet as a favorite that linked to this Learn WordPress.com Tutorial and had been meaning to give it a look, so, today, home sick, I gave it a go.

I especially enjoyed step 3: get focused, which encouraged the blogger to figure out why they were creating a blog, and what their passions are, and how the two might be linked together. As they mention, it’s no mistake that the most successful blogs have a purpose and stick to it.

I think that this leads me to my point: I lack a purpose in my blogging and that is why I find it hard to stick with. I don’t have a specific audience in mind, nor a particular idea to impart, and, as a result, my content is random and doesn’t feel like it is “for” anyone.

So. Goal = set my purpose. Focus on a topic that ignites my passions and will be engaging to others who share that passion and go from there. I’m a little too out of it to go into details right now, but I will be back to share some ideas soon. Here’s to turning in early so my body can fight this infection, my head can clear, and I can return soon with some focused, purpose-ful writing!

About beckysearls

Married (DINK); High School Spanish Teacher; Lover of new technology (especially apple products!), Learner (of the life-long variety), Voracious Reader, Aspiring Writer, Tweeter, and now (or rather, a returning) Blogger!
This entry was posted in mishmash, reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

