Reflection on 1/12/2011; Plans for Thursday 1/13/2011

Today was OK. Not terrible, but not great. It was a “get things done” kind of day. And I am proud of what I got done since I wasn’t feeling all that great – I miss Justin because he’s away for a conference and just wasn’t as on today as usual.

5th & 7th period I finished all speakings except one, as a student was absent, but she frequents GLRC and I can assess her there, perhaps even tomorrow. Students were good about noise level and I was able to work one on one with 2 students during my 5th period class after wrapping up speaking assessments so I feel good about that.

4th & 8th periods were good & bad. Good because I was able to get through several speaking assessments per period, and marked more off of that list so that tomorrow will be less stressful; bad because the kids had their eating day today after cooking yesterday and I didn’t get to try any of our dishes! However, it was so nice of my collaborating teacher to offer to host my students for the day & allow me to continue my speaking assessments at the same time – and hopefully today was more interesting for my students than a typical speaking day.

Plans for Thursday, 1/13/2011

Periods 4 & 8: Wrap up Speaking Assessments (Per 4 retake of holiday quiz first; Per 8 take holiday quiz first + self assessments for holiday project); collect food questions; During speakings, hand back writing midterms & have them begin to correct & rewrite – due on Wednesday of next week

Homework: Midterm rewrites w/corrections due next Wednesday

Periods 5 & 7: Meet in 152; follow lead of collaborating teacher 5th period & prep for 7th period during 6th period lunch. Get a gift card for collaborating teacher to say thank you for all of her help. Both classess will cook, clean up, and eat in 1 period, so we will need to start right away at the bell and keep things moving! It should go fast but be fun & memorable. I’m a little anxious about finding all of the supplies in the right places & cleaning up appropriately but I think by jumping in & setting an example it will all work out! And it should go fast but that will be fun too. Only thing is 8th period I have a class and will need to finish up speakings during it so I may have to clean up after school (reminder to self: also said I would meet with 2 students to practice speaking after school tomorrow-suggest they come to room 152 so I can clean up & help them at the same time – let Pam know about this 5th period tomorrow!)

Homework for tomorrow: none!🙂

Tomorrow is my friday (thank goodness!!!) and so I will try to get things done like finishing my reading midterms grading (got through about a third of them today and a third monday so a third left to go) and get organized a little so that when I come to school on Tuesday for our grading day I can focus & be productive. I am so eager to put 1st semester behind me and turn a new leaf for second semester. I think we need a new semester, fresh chapter, new seating charts, and reminder of expectations to get back on track in the 2nd half of the year. I’m looking forward to it!

About beckysearls

Married (DINK); High School Spanish Teacher; Lover of new technology (especially apple products!), Learner (of the life-long variety), Voracious Reader, Aspiring Writer, Tweeter, and now (or rather, a returning) Blogger!
This entry was posted in planning, reflection, school. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

