Inspired!

It’s been one of those great fall weekends where you can wear just a T-shirt & Sweatshirt and run around in the sun, watching the leaves change colors and enjoying life!

Justin’s out of town this weekend at a conference, and I was afraid I’d be really bored without him here since we tend to stick close to home and I have a 3-day weekend, but I’ve really made the most of my time to myself!

We had the day off on friday for no particular reason, so, I started out my weekend by doing a P90X upper-body routine (I did, by the way, finish P90X successfully about a montha go and felt super-accomplished!) then met some of my favorite colleagues for a yummy lunch – we all had curry of various spicy levels. Good food and good conversation made for a delightful afternoon! I also picked up my Buck I.D. that afternoon at OSU’s brand new Student Union which is exciting because now I have full use of all library services as well as lots of discounts on food around the OSU campus area, which includes lots of yummy ethnic foods (I almost always pick up falafel following my Tuesday-night class at a little mediterranean café that seems to having a standing deal of 4 falafel for $1 – even better is that they almost always give you 5-6!)

Saturday was filled with a manicure/mini massage at Nurtur with my favorite esthetician, Shara. This was nice because it was already paid for via a Groupon I purchased last Spring. I also fit in some grading and reading for my grad class at a local coffe shop, called Cup ‘O Joe and had a delectable drink that was a combination of Chai and Pumpkin Spice. Perfect for my fabulous fall weekend.

Today my friend and colleague, Lauren, ran the Columbus Marathon and I went out to watch with another friend, Megan. While we watched we both got pretty inspired to try it out ourselves. It was so neat to come out and see all the different types of people who go for it, young, old, thin, and not so thin, all pushing themselves to reach that goal. I think I may want to try a half-marathon in the next calendar year….Kate, are you still interested in the Flying Pig in the spring? If so I may try to train for that race in the spring with an end goal of the Columbus Marathon in a year. I always get nervous about marathons because Justin had a high school teacher who ran one and died at the finish line. I know that this can happen but is very very rare, and I think I’m probably at a pretty good fitness level to start training following P90X, but, still, nervous. I would need the support of Justin & others in my life for sure to be able to go for it. We’ll see – half for sure I think, full maybe someday!🙂

How was your weekend??

About beckysearls

Married (DINK); High School Spanish Teacher; Lover of new technology (especially apple products!), Learner (of the life-long variety), Voracious Reader, Aspiring Writer, Tweeter, and now (or rather, a returning) Blogger!
This entry was posted in fitness & nutrition, mishmash. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspired!

  1. Sheryl Sullivan says:

    Becky, Good to see you blog again. I know you get busy when school starts… and now grad school too but it was nice to hear about your weekend. I could see you doing a marathon. But starting with a half one might be wise. You jog and work out anyway… you would probably have to include more running time into your work out to condition yourself. We are cleaning up the garden bit by bit as the nights get colder and things die off. The tomatoes are done now and the squash. We still have some carrots to dig up. It has been wonderful fall weather. We had a week of mid 80’s last week. Our leaves are almost off the trees now. So I have been mowing them up in the bag and dumping them on the garden. It makes good mulch. Hope you have a good week. Love, Mom

  2. Kate says:

    Good to hear from you Becky. Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend. And YES! we are still planning on the Flying Pig Half in May. I was just asking Collin about it the other day. We still need to figure out logistics with travel and boy watching but it is our plan. I’m excited!!

Leave a Reply

