IKEA Finds!

It’s been a couple of days and I’ve been busy enough to warrant not blogging! There’s that lack of consistency I mentioned in blog post #1. See how true to my word I can be?

Anywho, Wednesday I went to IKEA with a colleague from school and feasted on the eye candy that exists in that wondrous, wondrous store. Although it was difficult,  I limited myself and had a budget of $50 in advance,  which I almost met ($57) walking away with the following items:

  • Anssi Stools for Kitchen Island (2 @ $14.99 each – about $30)
  • Lack side table (1 @ $7.99 – about $8) for next to our previously-purchased bed frame, Malm
  • Distans food saver containers for kitchen (1 set -contains e- of 7.5 x 5.5″, 1 set 5.5 x 5.5″ – 2 sets at $1.99 per set – about $4)
  • Jall clothes organizer for closet (1 @ $2.99 – about $3)
  • Frajen bath towels for bathroom (2 @ $5.99 each – about $12)
  • Snalis storage bin & lids to store our global language headphones in at school (2 boxes at $2.49 each + 2 lids @ $1 each – about $7)

The last item (storage bins & lids) I hope to have reimbursed from school since they were bought to store our department’s headphones. One strategy I always have at IKEA is to buy the absolute lowest-end item out of those offered. I find that although I love almost everything in the store, once you get IKEA furniture or goods home, they all look about the same quality. So why not go for the $7 Lack side table instead of its more expensive $70 slibling, the Hemnes?

An observation from this IKEA trip is that it is somewhat like Trader Joe’s in that if you want something, you better grab it, because who knows if it’ll be there the next time you go back in 6-12 months? (Listen for the telling–and very true–line: “it’s your favorite stuff they don’t have anymore” in the video, along with all the other delightful observations of Trader Joes idiosyncrasies including but not limited to “it’s the beautiful moms in their yoga clothes”)

All in all, I’d say it was a very successful trip. I was especially proud of my frugality rubbing off on my colleague and the $65 savings said colleague walked away with do to a little last-minute snooping in the “as-is” section prior to checking out. Nothing beats a great deal!

About beckysearls

Married (DINK); High School Spanish Teacher; Lover of new technology (especially apple products!), Learner (of the life-long variety), Voracious Reader, Aspiring Writer, Tweeter, and now (or rather, a returning) Blogger!
This entry was posted in deals, decor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

